Stenciled Monogram

My friends are putting the finishing touches on the nursery for their little bundle of joy. They bought a cute frame and lined the back with a burlap material. It was super cute! They came to me for a swirly monogram stencil and I was so excited to try to do a new stencil….. and I went straight to Pinterest. There are many different ways to monogram and many free fonts to choose from.  The free font I picked is listed here.

After downloading the free font, I uploaded the monogram image to my Circuit Design Studio and cut the stencil out with vinyl. Once the vinyl was cut, I put on transfer tape on top. With the swirly lines, it is so important to use transfer tape to ensure correct placement. Please do not try to do it by hand!! It will only cause headaches, frustrations and more work. Plus, the grid of the transfer tape is sooooooo helpful with placement.

IMG_2633

The monogram was then painted on to the burlap backing with acrylic paint. The best tool to use for painting on a fabric that can bleed easily is to use a cheapy sponge. Make sure to use very little paint on the sponge and paint in thin layers with the paint completely drying in between coats.

They did all the hard work and the end result is amazing!! This would also be perfect for any baby shower or birthdays too… I think all girls are a sucker for a good monogram. But now, I can’t wait to do one for myself!

MonogramTill we meet again,

Anne from Annie’s Bug Blog

Leave a Reply

